LAP Twin LED Batten 60W 5600lm 5ft (7223V)

Discussion in 'Electricians' Talk' started by G4TRA, Dec 31, 2018.

1. G4TRA

G4TRA New Member

I am intrigued as to how, if these battens are daisy chained (as they are design to), that the earth is fed from batten to batten to enable a full certification of the installation to be approved. I am aware that these are double insulated which is fine for a single batten installation, but for a multiple daisy chained installation there seems to be no means of feeding on the incoming earth. Hence there is a risk that all wiring after the first batten is poorly protected (with no earth connected) and the installation will not be to current 2018 regs.
    I am not an electrician mind you, so may well have missed something obvious here?

2. Bazza

Bazza Screwfix Select

This is a common issue with many Class II light fittings. The lights themselves do not require an earth, but the lighting circuit does!

Simply provide a separate connector in the fittings that provides continuity for the earth (CPC) from the start to the end of the circuit.

And of course, test that the earth is there at the origin, and that it is also there at the final light fitting. You’ll obviously test that when you measure the EFLI/Zs at the end of the lighting circuit!

KIAB likes this.
  3. peter palmer

peter palmer Screwfix Select

Why would it need to? You would feed the first batten with 2 core flex if it was double insulated wouldn't you so there won't even be an earth to continue.

4. peter palmer

Are these not "link-light" type lights as the op talks about daisy chaining them. Don't buy lap **** myself.

5. Bazza

Bazza Screwfix Select

I assumed he means to have several separate fittings connected by additional fixed wiring.
    Maybe a wrong assumption!

6. Vin

Vin Screwfix Select

I fitted several of these recently and spotted the same potential problem.