Floorboard Planing Advice + Product Advice

Discussion in 'Carpenters' Talk' started by TGull, Jan 15, 2019.

1. TGull

TGull Member

Evening all,

Hope all is well.

Over the past few months I've been sanding bitumen off some floorboards and have decided I want to try a different route.

Rather than sanding it off with an angle grinder (only thing which can do it when clogged) I'm thinking I could just take the first few mm off with a Planer. I've never used one before, but I can't see any issues arising, unless someone wants to point them out?

Firstly, just wondering if anyone has tried the MAKITA M1901 2MM PLANER 240V? I've bought a similar Makita product for sanding (MAKITA M9400 4" BELT SANDER) and been overall very happy with the quality... just wondering if you can sharpen the blades yourself? Or is it quite normal just to get new ones like everything else? I've learnt that often it's best to get a product which has cheap / replaceable bits as often the cost of the bits will far outgo the cost of the machine.

The other only concern I was thinking regarding planing the floorboards is hitting nails or the likes of. Therefore I was thinking of getting a BOSCH TRUVO DIGITAL WALL DETECTOR. I could use this for studs etc, but initially I would be using it to find where the nails are, then punch them out accordingly (carpin nails / snapped floorboard nails).

Does this method seem ok? I'm not 100% fussed about a perfect flat / even finish, as I don't mind it being a bit higgledy piggledy.

After the planer I will use the belt sander / random orbital to finish.

Thoughts welcome.

Best

TGull

2. KIAB

KIAB Super Member

Lift floorboards & turn them over.:)

Other option is hire a proper floor sander, will make short work of bitumen.

With regards to planers blades, I put them in a knife jig & sharpen on my sheppach sharpener, same with stanley blades.

3. TGull

TGull Member