Drilling through battens & fixing to brick

Discussion in 'Carpenters' Talk' started by tomincognito, Feb 6, 2019.

1. tomincognito

tomincognito New Member

Noob here, potential silly question alert. Planning to make a fitted cupboard in an alcove when sufficiently informed :)

For the frame I've seen people place timber against the wall, drill through it and into the brick at once, tap a plug all the way through and screw. I plan to use a 7mm drill, brown plug and 5mm screw but I don't quite understand... as the hole in the batten is bigger than the screw, none of the thread will make contact and it's secured only by the head which is 10mm. Is that secure enough...? Cheers!

2. Astramax

Astramax Super Member

Why not use frame or hammer in fixings, both available from Screwfix.

3. DIYDave.

DIYDave. Screwfix Select

That’s the idea as you’ve said, that’s correct

You don’t want the thread of the screw biting into timber as can stop the timber being pulled tight against the wall

You can either use partially threaded screws with a plain shank (the bit that passes through the timber) or your method will be good as well.

Look at Bosch Multi Construction Drill Bits as name suggests, will drill through timber then onto wall/brick with ease

Drill first hole say centre of batten, poke a plug through, tap with hammer flush with batten, add screw to plug with couple of turns, then tap screw and plug through timber and into wall. Then screw up fairly tight to hold batten to wall but still allow adjustment. Spirit level on batten, level, drill next hole towards one end, repeat procedure

What’s wall construction ? Any ideas ? Brick / block / other ?

Use sufficiently long screws to pass through batten and say 50mm into wall

goldenboy and KIAB like this.
  4. Mr Rusty

Mr Rusty Screwfix Select