Neutral and live wires in lighting fixture.

Discussion in 'Electricians' Talk' started by Aurelija, Mar 13, 2019.

1. Aurelija

Aurelija New Member

Hey. So I have this light fixture that I needed to shorten the cable. There's only two wires and upon inspection before cutting they both seemed to be the same so I was hoping that once I strip it from the main casing one of them would be ribbed indicating it as neutral. However that's not the case. After striping both wires a bit more noticed that one of them has a white strand of thread inside. That is the only difference that I can see. Anyone seen anything like this and maybe someone could help. Which wire is witch? Sorry I am a bit of a novice at these things. Any help appreciated.

2. chippie244

chippie244 Super Member

You need to do a continuity test to see which goes where.
    Is it bayonet or edison screw?

3. Aurelija

Aurelija New Member

It is edison screw.

4. chippie244

chippie244 Super Member

Pretty sure that live goes to the centre.

5. Rulland

Rulland Screwfix Select

Agreed.
    Use a continuity check to confirm which one does.

6. spinlondon

spinlondon Screwfix Select

As far as I’m aware it’s only certain Edison lamp sizes that require line to centre terminal.
    E14 and E27 for instance do not.

7. Pollowick

Pollowick Screwfix Select

Have seen those with bare metal touchable with lamps screwed in.

And what if someone changes a lamp with power still on - say on a circuit with multiple switches? Even if they do not touch the fitting, they may well touch the cap sides which will be live.

8. Comlec

Comlec Screwfix Select

This is what @spinlondon is referring to

Polarity
    Where relevant, the polarity of the supply at the origin of the installation shall be verified before the installation is energized. Where single-pole switching devices are not permitted in the neutral conductor, a test shall be made to verify that all such devices are connected in the line conductor(s) only.