RCD selection

Discussion in 'Apprentice Talk' started by Always learning, Mar 21, 2019.

1. Always learning

Always learning New Member

Hi there,
    I'm an apprentice electrician and looking for some help/advice. I want to rewire my parents house. 3 bedrooms, 2 living rooms, 1 kitchen, 1 utility and 1 bathroom. Approx 2 double sockets in each room except bathroom obviously and a few extra in kitchen and utility. Standard pendant light in each room. No electric shower. Has immersion and electric oven. I can wire sockets, lights etc and consumer unit but my question is how to select RCD size. I purchased a consumer unit fully populated. 100a main switch and dual RCD, both 80a and multiple mcbs. I'm in Ireland and have only seen 63a or lower in domestic. Is 80a to large. I work for a large electrical company with multiple people so advice is hard got because you never work with anyone interested. Just a lot of fed up electricians. Help would be much appreciated.

2. Peterdevon

Peterdevon Screwfix Select

Use rcbos

rogerk101 likes this.
  3. rogerk101

rogerk101 Screwfix Select

I agree. If I were wiring from scratch there's no question ... RCBOs throughout. The best thing about it is you know immediately exactly which circuit has a fault because it's the only one that is tripped.

4. Always learning

I looked at that, but was looking at RCD, MCB etc route cause I was given a brand new populated unit from a cancelled job. Trying to stick to this route cause money is tight as an apprentice and wanna do it for free for parents rather than them having to buy bits for the job.

5. spirits are real 2016

spirits are real 2016 Screwfix Select

no 80a is not too big bigger the better than you can't overload it who will be doing the testing and certification.

6. Always learning