RCD and MCB - is this ok for my new shower?

Discussion in 'Electricians' Talk' started by Taddy, Mar 20, 2019.

1. Taddy

Taddy New Member

Hi everyone,
    I want to replace my dead 7kw electric shower with a Triton T80si 7.5kW (I don't think I can go higher power as it has a 6mm cable supply). The manual says it requires a 32A MCB and also a 30mA RCD.
    I did put in the previous electrical shower and have worked with and built guitar amps so I am not really a novice but I am a little unsure about current domestic electrical systems. When I put in the previous shower we had an old style fuse box with an isolator switch for the shower - no consumer unit, MCB or RCD. Now I have all these and it looks like everything is ok but I wanted to check with you guys. Please check out the pic...
    DSC_0120 (1).JPG So the way I'm reading this is that the shower is supplied via a 32A MCB and there is a 30mA RCCB (=RCD?)for the whole bank. Is that correct? If so then is this basically all good for the shower so I don't need to change anything? I have an isolator switch already outside the bathroom so all I have to do is plumb and wire in the shower - right?

Thanks in advance for your help...
    Tom

2. Yes,that is fine for the shower.

Taddy likes this.
  3. Comlec

Comlec Screwfix Select

Yup. Just ensure all your terminations are tight.

Taddy likes this.
  4. Taddy

Taddy New Member

Thanks guys - just needed to check for peace of mind. I'll make sure everything is tight.

5. Philip Hyde

Philip Hyde Screwfix Select

Tight? Or to the correct Torque ? ;-)o_O:)

6. gas monkey

gas monkey Well-Known Member

sounds likke a plan he who dares

7. JP.

JP. Screwfix Select

Hmmmm - on the presumption that the DB portrayed is a so called 16th edn split loader - then myself would have planted an appropriate rcbo in the non protected side tbqh.

8. Bazza-spark

Bazza-spark Screwfix Select

Welcome back sir!

seneca likes this.
  9. ecoplumbing

ecoplumbing Active Member