Another newbie insulation testing question...

Discussion in 'Electricians' Talk' started by Beacon, Mar 27, 2019.

1. Beacon

Beacon Member

Hi all

I'm a recently qualified domestic electrician, struggling to come to terms with the reality of testing for certification - it's a joy isn't it?

The whole thing is a ball-ache, but I have a particular problem; insulation resistance testing on a pre-existing domestic installation.

It would be a lot of work to locate and remove/disconnect every accessory on the lighting/power ring finals and finals - so I'm doing L&N to E tests. Problem is, even doing this I'm getting close to zero results at 250v. I've tried using the busbars and MCB outlets, and disconnecting the live conductors and earth from the CU - still getting nowhere.

Please - any wisdom/ideas greatly appreciated. 2 hours work installing followed by 3 hours trying to do the bl**dy tests isn't funny, or economic.
    I'm prepared to be stupid/wrong/ignorant, and am always ready to learn.

2. Bazza-spark

Bazza-spark Screwfix Select

It sounds like you are being caught out by the star point at the transformer giving you false readings.

You need to make sure the incoming earth and neutral are not in your test circuit.

Hope that makes sense.

Kind regards

3. Beacon

Beacon Member

Thanks Bazza - I thought I'd allowed for this by disconnecting all circuit conductors - could there be a link between separate circuits that is giving an alternative path to N do you think??

4. Risteard

Risteard Screwfix Select

You shouldn't be disconnecting the cpc as it needs to be connected to the means of Earthing for the installation for the test to be valid. Ideally test the whole installation in parallel, otherwise you will need to calculate resistances in parallel to verify compliance with BS7671.

5. Bazza-spark

Rubbish!

You need to disconnect when testing a ring to verify ring continuity, polarity etc.

Stop giving incorrect information.

6. Bazza-spark