Outdoor Circuit-Rcd Protection

Discussion in 'Electricians' Talk' started by iain.p, Jun 12, 2019.

1. iain.p

iain.p New Member

I am planning to install an outdoor circuit for lighting and a water butt pump, Total load under 13amps, I am not an electrician but I have reasonable knowledge.

I will be using 1.5mm Swa cable 3 core approx. 40 metres long (so I can take it under ground or above if needed) adding in 3/4 Ip66 outdoor sockets along the way, as I mentioned above I am not an electrician so I will power the circuit from the garage by using a 13amp plug directly into the ring main which is protected by an Rcd on the downstairs ring main (80A 30mA)in the house Cu, this way I will not cause any problems in the future as it can be unplugged when not required.

My main problem/question is should the Rcd (in the Cu) trip out. this will knock out the fridges/freezers etc on the same circuit-so should I add a separate Rcd adaptor/plug.

Normal surface mounted 2 gang socket in garage ---- Rcd adaptor? ----13amp plug ----40 metre Swa cable with weather proof sockets

The adaptor will have the same trip current of 30mA as the Rcd on the Cu.so will they both trip out or is there another way of doing this.

Any help suggestions, advice welcome.

Thank you Cu 2019.jpg2.jpg Cu 2019.jpg2.jpg Cu 2019.jpg2.jpg

2. Coloumb

Coloumb Screwfix Select

From what your saying you plan to run an extension lead from a socket that the fridges/freezers share a 30ma RCD on. If this is the case then yes if the extension lead causes the RCD to trip then it will also disconnect the fridges/freezers. You can't fit an additional 30ma RCD to just the extension lead, this won't stop the upstream RCD from tripping You would have to redesign your setup using RCBO's. Time delayed RCD's might be an option but would be very complicated to setup and still be within 7671.

I would suggest getting a spark in, he will be over the moon if you do the trenching for him.

3. Peterdevon