SWA in Plastic CU from the rear

Discussion in 'Electricians' Talk' started by GeordieKev, Jul 11, 2019.

1. Philip Hyde

Philip Hyde Screwfix Select

Dont think there will be a massive mechanical load on a cable coming out the back of a fuse board!

2. GeordieKev

GeordieKev New Member

I am an electrician, but i work in the industrial side, not a domestic sparky. So I've done all the work myself and getting it signed off for the Part P by the council. That's why i'm asking, I know how to do it, but wanted to see what the thoughts were of doing it this way!

Philip Hyde likes this.
  3. GeordieKev

GeordieKev New Member

I asked an opinion of terminating in the CU, not about how I've installed the rest of the circuit. As you stated it's non-standard. which doesn't mean its incorrect just not standard!

4. GeordieKev

GeordieKev New Member

Think i need to update this a little as seems although I wasn't clear on what I was asking. I know how to install SWA via glands and earth, and I was planning on doing it that way but rather than have a extra box on the side of the house where i terminated the SWA, then running non SWA into the consumer unit. I thought it would be easier to just go onto the consumer unit. As the reason for glands and connecting it to earth is to stop potential difference due to a short on the SWA, then I couldn't see any issue. Also the building regs are slightly unclear as normal. I also know that attaching the SWA via a gland gives mechanical protection but seeing as it going through a wall and sealed then this isn't an issue!

5. Bazza-spark

Bazza-spark Screwfix Select

I would suggest you use an external rated gland for this. If you then use the piranha earthing nut Philip has linked to, you will get a good connection to make your final earth with.

I am concerned about a few things however.
    1. As this is a new circuit it is notifiable under Part P.