Unvented Cylinder in loft.

Discussion in 'Engineers' Talk' started by LEE EDWARDS, Sep 11, 2019.

1. LEE EDWARDS

LEE EDWARDS New Member

Hi all. I hope you are well. This is my first time here so please point me in the right direction if this is not the correct place to post.

I would like to install a 300 litre unvented cylinder in my loft (I'm a plumber) but need to figure out how to make the platform to support it.

I live I a Bungalow from the 1930's which has 100 x 50mm joists at 400mm centres. The span from binder to load bearing wall is 1.9 metres and then from binder to wall plate 1.5 metres.

The dead load of my tank I believe is 1400 kn over an area of 0.28m2. Would I be able to span a few joists with larger timbers/ double up the joists etc?

Any advice given I will gladly take.

Regards Lee

2. KIAB

KIAB Super Member

Unvented cylinder around 350kg (777lbs) full, with my rough sums,might vary abit depending on make of cylinder.

3. Hans_25

Hans_25 Screwfix Select

350Kg is quite a weight, I've got a 70 gallon tank in the loft with a similar construction, it actually holds nearer 55 gallons which is about 250Kg. There is a big structural timber right underneath it and its right next to the gable wall too where this timber is supported, I wouldn't want to put 350Kg just on joists even if they're sistered up or load spread. You're looking at the weight of 5 people. Ideally you want something solid underneath it or have it as near as possible to something solid like an outside wall.

Is it an option to add height to the 2x4s and screw/glue another 2x 4 timber on top? Doubling the height of the timbers increases the stength 8 fold. If not, perhaps look at screwing in long steel plates to the joists, screwing 25mm ply across many joists etc.

4. LEE EDWARDS

LEE EDWARDS New Member