Flex termination in 13amp Plug and similar.

Discussion in 'Electricians' Talk' started by Philde, Oct 12, 2019.

1. Philde

Philde Member

I have read that to meet current regs, the ends of flex conductors should have a crimp on them when used in 13amp plugs or similar screwed terminations. Certainly most modern appliances have come that way and I understand the fatigue issues if ends are soldered. If this is true, does anyone know where the crimps can be obtained from? I see lots of adverst for bootlace ferrules but in some locations these would be too long to fit to to terminals. any views?

Cheers

2. peter palmer

peter palmer Screwfix Select

I've been putting plugs on for 30 years, I'll decide whats the best way to do it not some lame new rule if there is one.

Heat, DIYperson and sparky steve like this.
  3. sparky steve

sparky steve Screwfix Select

I qualified some 40yrs ago & like peter has said i will also decide the best way! The mind boggles. What next? A rule on how to use a screwdriver perhaps?o_O

Heat and DIYperson like this.
  4. Tony Goddard

Tony Goddard Screwfix Select

Not sure what rule you are referring to, as others have said I have never put a ferrule on and never will, they are used in factories for ease of assembly.
    There is one pertinent bit of legislation I do follow, the machinery directive, that requires that a repaired machine be repaired to the same specification to which it was made, I service a lot of vacuum cleaners of a certain brand, for which I'm an agent for local schools, if the lead is damaged it has to be replaced with the same type as to cut a bit off and fit a 13A plug would change the spec of the machine and under the MD make me the manufacturer of record and therefore make me liable for any injury caused by the machine.
    As the leads are only £9.00 we just replace them rather than fitting plugs, I always keep a good stock of leads with moulded plugs of various specs on the shelf.

5. robertpstubbs