Best waterproof self leveling screed for 0mm to 5mm concrete base?

Discussion in 'Builders' Talk' started by rogerk101, Dec 1, 2019.

1. rogerk101

rogerk101 Screwfix Select

I'm looking for opinions on the best self leveling screed to use on my slightly wonky concrete garage floor.
    • It should be waterproof to prevent any rising damp getting through
    • It should accommodate 0mm to 5mm (or thereabouts)
    • It will cover an area of 26m2 (4m x 6.5m)
    • It will have 50mm insulation boards on top of it, followed by 18mm/22mm chipboard, followed by tiles
    • No underfloor heating
    • It should provide me with as much working time as possible (I've never done an SLC before, so definitely don't want rapid set)
    I plan to mix it in regular black building buckets using a slurry mixer on my drill, to spread it with a rake or a sponge squeegy, and then to roll it with a spiked roller.

All guidance welcome. Kiab, that means you! :D

2. KIAB

KIAB Super Member

No leveling compound is a dpm.

How/what you securing chipboard to?

Would have looked at a suspended floor, then you could use a liquid dpm on floor.

3. rogerk101

Thanks for responding, Kiab.
    My biggest problem is that I only have 80mm to play with, and I'd like to max out on insulation, e.g 2mm SLC + 50mm insulation + 18mm chipboard + 10mm tiles = 80mm
    I'm fairly sure I addressed whatever damp there was in the floor when I dug out all round the building and installed a really good damp proof and drainage system ... it's been bone dry inside since then ... but I figured there's no harm in a liquid DPM as belts and braces. (I only like doing jobs once!)
    I was hoping that I could use the liquid DPM as an SLC, or to find and SLC that blocked damp. I don't mind doing both as long as it doesn't raise the floor by much more than 2mm higher than the current highest point.