New to joinery

Discussion in 'Carpenters' Talk' started by C0N1ST0N, Dec 27, 2019.

1. C0N1ST0N

C0N1ST0N New Member

Hi all,

I'm a young lad, self taught and finding my way with joinery/woodworking as a whole.

My questions is, where do you draw the line with pocket screws? What things would you build them with and where do you draw the line?

What other methods do you use?

I like the idea of building things traditionally however it takes a lot more time yet I feel like I'm cheating, or doing something wrong!

Elaborate as much as you can, I want to hear all opinions and advice from experienced woodworkers.

Thanks,
    Josh

2. Jord86

Jord86 Screwfix Select

I thought you were a craftsman as opposed to a young lad?

3. candoabitofmoststuff

candoabitofmoststuff Screwfix Select

I do a lot of joinery, using handtool methods... for some things it does take longer... but I'm not doing it for a living.

I'm really intrigued that you think using tradition methods might be "cheating", or "doing something wrong"???!!!
    I have I understood that the wrong way round?

Regards,

Cando

4. C0N1ST0N

C0N1ST0N New Member

Well yes I am both, why would that be as opposed to? I run a business building bespoke furniture and decor from reclaimed materials and I do have experience, I'm just explaining that I'm not a seasoned woodworker and I'm still learning...

5. C0N1ST0N

C0N1ST0N New Member

Sorry that wasnt out across properly!
    What I meant was, I would like to use traditional joinery methods for certain items I make, but for larger or more time consuming jobs pocket holes would be easier and quicker, however using that method makes me feel like I'm "cheating".

6. Jord86

Jord86 Screwfix Select

It’s not two descriptions that normally go together hence why I asked.