Supply to a shed/studio....

Discussion in 'Electricians' Talk' started by Andy Sparks, Jan 12, 2020.

1. Andy Sparks

Andy Sparks New Member

Hi Screwfix community,
    I'm a recently qualified electrician and doing a job at the moment to supply a studio in the clients garden with power.
    He needs 13.2kw of power and already has a small CU installed in the studio. Will need to look at this and reconfigure, test all existing circuits installed, and introduce an RCD.

His house CU is 100% populated, he needs more than a MCB could give him anyway.

Plan was to split his existing CU tails into 2 sets using 2 pole Henley block for 25mm2 CU tails. 1 set would be for his house CU (inserting an isolator if I can squeeze it in), the other going to another 100A isolator supplying 16mm2 SWA. Debating whether to use 2 or 3 core SWA. Use the 3rd core for a belt and braces additional layer of CPC protection.
    The run of SWA is approx. 15m, 5 of which is from the back of the house to the end wall of the studio.
    There is a concrete foundation to a fence which I could easily clip the SWA to for this run but it is at foot level, albeit tucked away. Would you recommend digging a trench for this part of the run and mark it etc, for regs, or be OK to go for the easier route? (paving slabs and patio would have to come up!)
    For the rest of the run it could be clipped to the back of the studio which is not accessible before entering studio through a junction box.
    Need to check what the cable connection from junction box to the studio CU. If not sufficient, will increase in cable diameter.

Anybody have any thoughts, or suggestions?

2. nigel willson

nigel willson Screwfix Select

If your recently qualified, do you not know about earthing arrangements on outbuildings . What is the earthing arrangement in the main house,TNC-S, TNS, TT, ? Loading 13KW, what they running ect

3. Andy Sparks

Andy Sparks New Member