RSJ on thermal block

Discussion in 'Builders' Talk' started by 132blackrs, Jan 13, 2020.

1. 132blackrs

132blackrs New Member

IMG_0522.jpg Hi all. I'm after some advice please. A family member is planning on widening an existing opening between his lounge and dining room. At the moment it's about 1.8 metres wide (double door width) but he wants to remove the load bearing wall and go right back to the outside wall on the one side. The clear opening will be around 3 metres. He's had some advice and was told that he can set the RSJ onto the internal cavity wall (thermal block) using some engineering brick under the beam to add some load bearing. I'm no expert but I thought this might not be right. The RSJ will then support 10 first floor joists and the bedrooms above (no solid walls just stud above). I thought you need a minimum of 150mm bearings for the steel and I do believe the thermals will be 100mm wide. I was guessing he would be better off cutting the existing single block load bearing wall back and keep six inches to bear the steel. The other side of the beam will sit on a decent amount of the existing solid block wall so that's ok. Any advice from you pro's is greatly appreciated.

2. stevie22

stevie22 Screwfix Select

Whoever specs the beam will spec the padstones. We aim for 150mm but in such cases as yours 100 onto the padstone which is set at right angles to the beam is fine,

If side wall is long you may need to keep a bit of pier to buttress the wall. Again your SE will advise.

Jord86 likes this.
  3. 132blackrs

132blackrs New Member