Using 6x2 C24 treated timbers as decking boards - any downsides?

Discussion in 'Carpenters' Talk' started by tygar2, Jul 9, 2020.

1. tygar2

tygar2 New Member

Hi everyone. After some advice as I am a complete amateur and know very little.

I rebuilt my deck frame using c24 6x2 pressure treated timbers and after months of searching and waiting, my delivery of 5.4m Canterbury style decking arrived today. Hard to find during lockdown as the local timber yards were either sold out, did grooves both sides only, or were not doing longer than 4.8m lengths.

Anyway, I want smooth side up as I find grooves uncomfortable underfoot. From limited research, I believe grooves were actually designed to be on the underside anyway! What happened was the delivery driver noted the missus checking that the deck boards were smooth on one side and told her we would have been better off ordering 6x2s! That got me thinking - is there a downside to this? Are decking board just a 6x2 timber cut in half and grooved?:confused: Apart from thickness, to me, they look the same when looking down as the width is the same and the finish looks identical.

At 2 inches, the timber will be much thicker than a deck board so should last longer and give room to be sanded down multiple times and take longer to rot through. The price difference is £1 (£12 for deck board and £13 for 6x2 - same length) which makes cost a non-issue and makes decking look like a bit of a rip off!:eek:

Am I missing something very obvious or there major downsides? Only things I can think of are I might have to sand off some "C24" printing and waterproof the areas where the frame and underside of the top timber meet to make up for the lack of grooves for water to escape. I don't know...are 6x2s more likely to end up warping?

I assume the slip hazard is no worse and the plan was to add an anti slip coating after oiling.

Thoughts?

2. Severntrent

Severntrent Screwfix Select