250kg aquarium in loft

Discussion in 'Engineers' Talk' started by Stripedfish, Dec 11, 2020.

1. Stripedfish

Stripedfish New Member

Hi

I was wondering if I am being crazy not to get a structural engineer to look at this:

I live in a 2004 built end of terrace that has a 'pre-built' converted loft.
    I want to put in a 150l aquarium that I estimate will weigh 230-250KG including the glass/rocks/cabinet etc.
    The footprint of the cabinet will be 60x55cm and it would sit across 2 8"x2" joists. Due to it being a loft space, I can't get it up against a supporting wall, so would be about 1m away from where I think the joists end.

My question is - does this community think this is risky?

I'd add I am NOT an engineer!

thanks
    Charlie

2. Severntrent

Severntrent Screwfix Select

Depends on the span of the joists

3. Stripedfish

Stripedfish New Member

They are about 5 metres in span, and the tank would be about 1.5m from one end. As I said it will be straddling 2 joists that are 45cm apart.

4. Stripedfish

Stripedfish New Member

one other thing I just thought of is that I'm working from home sitting in a chair that rests over the same joists, about 2m further into the room, so that's another 85kg on the joists for 10 hrs a day..:(

5. Madeofale

Madeofale Active Member

is there anything you can do to spread the weight over more joists

before we moved into this house we lived in a large flat and that was one floor up, the place was built in 1922 and i had a 4x2x2 marine setup plus a 2x2x2 sump underneath, and that was full of liverock etc and that was alright, i doubt the joists in that place would have been 8x2 or even 7x2 probably 4x2 id imagine, but it was up against a wall, the joists would have gone into the wall too

6. Severntrent