16amp Socket in Garage

Discussion in 'Electricians' Talk' started by kirkdx, Jan 21, 2021.

1. Bob Rathbone

Bob Rathbone Screwfix Select

Do the manufactures think you are in mainland Europe where the 16A Shuko plug is endemic?

2. kirkdx

kirkdx Active Member

https://www.axminstertools.com/axminster-trade-series-aw10bsb2-saw-bench-230v-501196

That's the one I'm looking to get, assuming it's ever back in stock

Also, if I end up getting a new CU added for the garage/outside circuits, would you say it's better to get a ring for the 13a sockets, a radial (with a larger cable as 16a MCB doesn't seem enough for all the sockets) or 2+ radials split to different sockets?

3. BiancoTheGiraffe

BiancoTheGiraffe Screwfix Select

In this case, I think the "trade" rating of it is the only reason it's got a 16A plug on!

I'm a production technician full-time (well, until Covid!) and a lot of stuff comes with a 16A plug as standard regardless of it's rating. For smaller gigs at venues where we don't supply our own distribution kit, they just get a 13-16A adaptor stuck on the end and it's straight into a wall socket.

Ring/Radials, doesn't matter really, if it's just you in there then you won't have multiple tools running at the same time. Just bear in mind whether you'll want to stick an electric heater in at any point.

4. kirkdx

kirkdx Active Member

I'm definitely going to give the adaptor a shot as others have said, worst case is I'm down £8, best case I save a lot of money.

Heaters are one of the things I was thinking about, also dust extraction running at the same time as a tool. I think on a ring it would be fine but most people don't seem to recommend them for new circuits, although I guess as with most things it's a case of "it depends" as to wether they'd recommend them or not.

I was thinking if I had 2 radials, I could run the tools on 1 of the circuits and the dust extraction, etc on the other so they can be used together

5. The Happy Builder