Guttering Down pipe leads to no where

Discussion in 'Builders' Talk' started by Michael JCS, Feb 3, 2021.

1. Michael JCS

Michael JCS New Member

A5EBF1E3-F59D-4678-A27F-26B5C19F3148.jpeg A3EEFCF4-8619-4B3B-9DD5-C5E110448E6F.jpeg Hi, just looking for some advice really as I’m a bit of a novice when it comes to things like this.
    I have recently moved in to a property where the Down pipe at the rear of the house stops half way down the wall and the rain water just pours over the house. There is no existing drain underneath to connect to. Bare in mind, this downpipe collects all the water which hits the rear of the roof so it is quite a lot of water. I have been temporarily collecting the water in a bucket and emptying every time it rains but I am in need of a more permanent solution to keep the water away from the house. I have considered a water butt but I will be in a similar position but just have a larger container to empty. As you can see from the pics it has already caused some damage to the wall. Any tips would be appreciated. Cheers

2. warcs

warcs Member

That is the standard way a lot of conservatory manufacturers deal with the roof drainage, you need to pipe it to the nearest drain. Is there a downpipe near which is connected to the drains?

3. Michael JCS

Michael JCS New Member

Thanks for your reply. There is a downpipe which feeds into a drain at the front of the house. It might be possible to pipe to this drain but won’t be easy due to side gate being in the way

4. jonathanc

jonathanc Guest

as a temporary measure just extend the downpipe into the garden so it is away from the house. a more permenant solution is to reinstate the drainage that was there. any clues? where are the pipes for the neighbours? you may have an old drain somewhere nearer to join in

5. Rich Venner

Rich Venner New Member