I think my property has a chronic electrical issue

Discussion in 'Electricians' Talk' started by Tazy, Feb 22, 2021.

1. Tazy

Tazy New Member

Hi,

i hope you can help me answer some of my questions.

Firefighters, from the national grid I believe ??, visited my flat because they said there was smoking coming from my ‘main fuse’ located outside my flat. The fuse had melted and the Council needed to change it. The council used a fuse the firefighters had spare in their truck. I don’t even know who called the firefighter but thank GOD they came or else I might not even be asking these question.

The thing is, I live in a council block and I can see from the distribution board my fuse is different from all the other residents. When I wanted to put in a smart meter back in Nov 2019 the electrician said he couldn’t put it in because we had the wrong fuse. He said to call the council and for them to change it. I called the council and because I’m a layman couldn’t explain what needed doing other than that we had the wrong fuse for the smart meter. The council did nothing and I decided to give up . Now I’m worried that the council was negligent and left the wrong fuse in my distribution board, despite being altered to it and could have potentially caused a fire.

Before the fireman had visited the lights in my house in all rooms were flickering.Previously only the lights in the kitchen and hallways would flicker. Again the council knew and just changed the bulb which didn’t help obv. I thought maybe a treadmill I brought recently which uses a 200 v 60z with an extension cable could be the cause. Although I’ve used the treadmill 6 times before with no problems. The lights in the whole house started flickering shortly after I started using the machine and never resolved until the electrician put in a new fuse.