Painting over gloss AGAIN (Non yellowing)

Discussion in 'Painters' Talk' started by Shanks Kop, Mar 14, 2021.

1. Shanks Kop

Shanks Kop New Member

Hi all,

I will start by saying that I am a novice diyer.

I need to repaint a lot of gloss (oil) woodwork (all currently white). After reading so much, I’m now at a loss as to what’s the best way to proceed. I’ll have a two week window (New baby out the house) and want to get this right first time, all help greatly appreciated

What’s the best process to paint over the gloss? (I think it should be):

• Clean (Sugar soap) > Sand (Key 120) > Clean > Adhesive Primer > Sand/Denib> undercoat> Paint (one of Gloss/Satinwood Eggshell)
    • Is this correct?
    • Some paints from my understanding are self undercoating? So I assume I still prime but not undercoat?
    • Meths/Gloss Off This has been mentioned, is this to clean after the first sanding stage?
    • Sand: From my understanding 120 Grit?
    What is the best white Paint? I’m leaning towards satinwood /eggshell

I’m Ideally looking at white again and looking to avoid any yellowing as areas are very poor with natural light

The ones I see mentioned the most any preferred recommendations for my needs?
    • Zinsser bullseye 1-2-3 as a primer (water based).
    • Dulux Trade Satinwood
    • Dulux Trade Diamond Eggshell
    • Crown fastflow
    • Johnstones aqua satin
    • Johnstones aqua satin primer
    • Leyland primer/undercoat
    • Bedec Aqua Advanced
    How much paint will I need (roughly) - All calculators seem to factor in walls, which I’ve already done
    • 17 x Doors standard uk size
    • 17 x Door Frames
    • 7.5m Bannister Handrail (top part only)
    • 3m x Skirting
    Thanks all

2. Dr Decorator

Dr Decorator Active Member

You seem to have it covered

I tend to wash down with the Zinseer degreaser using a scotch brite then rinse of.

bullsey 123 would be a good primer to use.