Fixing 6m 8" x 2" joist trimmer to solid wall.

Discussion in 'Getting Started FAQ' started by SGM18, Aug 16, 2020.

1. SGM18

SGM18 Member

Hi all, I'm new to this, so go lightly on me haha.

Im wanting to fix a 6M 8x2 joist to the wall, (some call it a wallplate, others a trimmer?) will then hang joists of this. also, the fixed 6m joist will be picked up either end by inner blockwork too.

ive never used kemfix before so therefor unsure! I was think M14/M16 threaded rod. but at what depth in the wall? 6inches?

also, what would be wrong with the old metal anchors?

if anybody could point me in the right direction, and some sort of instructions with depths, bolt centres etc.

thanks in advance

2. Jord86

Jord86 Screwfix Select

There's lots of names but let's settle on ledger plate. Use 120mm length, at roughly 600mm centres, at M14 gauge.

3. SGM18

SGM18 Member

@Jord86 when you say, use 120mm length, is that the depth of wall? Or entire rod? Just doesn’t seem a lot if it’s entire rod that will lose 2inches through the ledger. Or does it not need much anchor in the wall, I was thinking 4-6inches in the wall?

also I can’t see M14 rod on SF they do 12 or 16, or would it need to be 14?

cheers

4. Jord86

Jord86 Screwfix Select

120mm the length of the fixing, I was assuming your wall was a cavity wall so 100mm brick or block would be the face the ledger would be fixed to, it still gives three inches into the wall which is normally plenty. Use 16 then if it's easier to source, but what does it say on your plans, as I assume this is an extension?

5. SGM18

SGM18 Member

@Jord86 yes it’s solid wall, adding two storey extension. Nothing on plans. Architect advised to use this method. Local regs gave me 3 options, this being the ‘easiest’. My builder mate whose helping recons the kemfix is the way forward. Just no one is giving me depths to drill solid wall etc and I’ve never used this stuff before!! I think I’ll go 4” into the wall with M16

6. rogerk101