Help with replacing an euro cylinder lock...

Discussion in 'Other Trades Talk' started by Alex F, Sep 6, 2021.

1. Alex F

Alex F New Member

Hi everyone,

I need to replace the euro cylinder lock on my front door but for the life of me I can't seem to find a replacement lock that will fit! I've attached pics for my lock + the measurements.

It's the first time I'm doing this so naturally I have no experience whatsoever. The size of this lock appears to be around 83mm total... but I can't find any locks that are this size. I have tried 35/50mm locks, 35/45 etc but none of them works!

Where am I going wrong with this please?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Attached Files:

2. sparky steve

sparky steve Screwfix Select

3. Alex F

Alex F New Member

Hi! Thanks for your reply.

I'm afraid it's not helpful as this is one of the maaaany guides I've used when shopping for the replacement lock. :(

I was hoping someone could tell me something specific about the size or the product I need to buy... because so far, I've tried many different options and they're not working. Perhaps there's something I'm overlooking.

Thanks!

4. sparky steve

sparky steve Screwfix Select

Maybe use the (Need Help contact us link) on their site, or give them a call.

5. I-Man

I-Man Screwfix Select

just go for a 40/50 90mm lock - should not be an issue

6. AnotherTopJob

AnotherTopJob Screwfix Select

What do you mean when you say none of the sizes work? It's 35/45 according to your measurements, so one that size should fit.

The only slight variation will be how much it protrudes from the front or back of the door. Ideally you want it flush, if there is a lot sticking out, someone could break it off with mole grips etc.

7. Alex F

Alex F New Member

What I mean is that, when installed, it doesn't do what it's supposed to. Like, the deadbolt doesn't move at all, so you can't actually lock the door (but it will close).