Vinyl Matt emulsion blistering on contract matt base coat

Discussion in 'Painters' Talk' started by Dominic Bonney, Jul 21, 2020.

1. Dominic Bonney

Dominic Bonney New Member

Hi there

new to the forum but wanted to get some advice from all the painters out there. I’m a tiler by trade but been painting on and off for 10 years, including my own house which I’m working on now.

After thoroughly prepping bedroom walls I gave everything a couple of coats of Leyland trade white contract matt as a base coat for a very pale colour I was getting mixed up. I actually changed my mind last minute and went with a dark colour. The problem is, once I painted my new vinyl emulsion on top of the leyland contract matt, small blisters started appearing and growing in size in various places. This didn’t happen on the first coat but it did on the 2nd.

next day I scraped the blisters off and found that I could easily scrape my new colour completely off so very bad adhesion to the contract matt, almost a dusty/chalky surface behind it.

I’d love to know if I’m doing this wrong or not. Is contract matt meant for overpainting with more durable vinyl matt like I have done, anyone else found trouble with paint sticking to the surface of contract matt? Been using the Leyland paint for years and never had this problem.

Any form of help or advice would be greatly appreciated!! Thanks in advance
    Dom

2. Wayners

Wayners Screwfix Select

What was the top coat? Trade matt or dulux diamond matt. Some durables need a primer on anything pourus like contract matt...

3. Dominic Bonney

Dominic Bonney New Member

Thanks for fast response. I used Johnstone’s vinyl matt emulsion on top of the Leyland contract matt. Ok that’s interesting, now you say that it makes sense that a primer is what that could need. Is there a primer you’d recommend for using as a base coat to top coat emulsions?
    Much appreciated

4. Wayners

Wayners Screwfix Select