Nasty Nip from wall sockets

Discussion in 'Electricians' Talk' started by ChrisM123, Oct 8, 2021.

1. ChrisM123

ChrisM123 Member

All,

Yesterday I experienced my first nip from a main circuit.. rather shocking I must say (tumbleweed moment).

Confusion is that it was a first floor socket and I had switched off the fuse on the main fuse box. I did test two other sockets but stupidly didn't test the wires of the wires in question.

As a non electrician I suppose I am surprised that cutting the power to a fuse didn't cut all of the sockets as the fuse details... is this a common occurrence?

The house is less than 5 years old.. Should sign off of the electrics not spot this?

Cheers
    C

2. Turning off the MCB for a circuit should isolate it. That doesn't mean that the socket was on the breaker you turned off.

tore81 likes this.
  3. SIRJOHN19

SIRJOHN19 Active Member

Many houses are not wired as 1st or 2nd floors etc. It’s wired as is convenient for the cable runs. Never never assume what’s written on the consumer unit as gospel. Always test with an approve tester and then test again. Here endeth lesson 1

tore81 and michael862 like this.
  4. MGW

MGW Screwfix Select

In the main ring finals should be split side to side of the house, as it needs less cable that way, and means a better earth loop impedance, when I fitted a new consumer unit the labels were all pre-printed upper and lower floor, so needed to write my own labels.

The on the cheap method is split up/down, because lights naturally are split upper and lower, and lights should not go out if you get a shock from a socket, if wiring on the cheap and only using two RCD's then the sockets also need splitting up/down to match lights, pre the days of RCD protection it was better side to side, but using RCBO's it can still be side to side so better quality homes still side to side.