Extend existing 40A unused circuit to shed

Discussion in 'Electricians' Talk' started by dtexh, Oct 22, 2021.

1. dtexh

dtexh Member

I am a competent DIYer and experienced house renovator with experience doing electrical work and the equipment and self-taught competence to test the work I do.

I have stuck a building control application form in, but haven't paid the fee yet and am having second thoughts as to whether it is technically notifiable. I do everything by the book, so want to do it properly, and if I have to pay the £350 I will, but it would be nice to save some money.

Approved document Part P (England) is vague and I can't find detailed guidance on any of the scheme websites.
    • 40A unused RCD protected MCB & 6mm2 T&E, all in good nick, fitted in 2018 but power shower it was supplying was disconnected.
    • Plan is to terminate into a Wiska box, gland to 6mm2 SWA, run 6 metres into shed, terminate into a 45A cooker style switch, 3A fused spur for lights, 13A fused spur for underfloor heating mats to save wall space (mats draw a total of 7A), and a run of 9 sockets.
    Dwelling side is a TNS so exporting earth should be fine pending test results, no extraneous conductive parts in shed.

2. Tony Goddard

Tony Goddard Screwfix Select

Re-using the circuit for another purpose is fine, what I'm not clear on is why you want to use a cooker switch and some spurs, that is a rather messy way of doing it, far better to use a 2 way CU with a 16A for sockets and a 6A for lights

or

Take the 6mm direct into a 13A spur, then run your sockets in 2.5mm with a spur in there fused at 3A for your light, bit amateur but would work.

In terms of notification, its easy to argue the method using the CU is creating extra circuits, but the second method certainly avoids that.