The right plaster for Victorian house

Discussion in 'Getting Started FAQ' started by Meganstephania, Nov 17, 2021.

1. Meganstephania

Meganstephania New Member

Hey guys, new here :) (Megan, 28, first home and DIY newbie so need your help!)

I'm in the process of buying a Victorian end of terrace (circa 1900-1920's) here is a link from Rightmove:
    https://www.rightmove.co.uk/properties/81568140#/media?channel=RES_BUY&id=media0

Okay so, my survey came back and mostly fine, but high moisture readings were found at the rear of the building by the chimney (dining room), but no visible signs of damp anywhere. They also noted that a DPC has been conducted on the exterior wall (what a load of bull right?).

There is no insulation and the walls are solid brick. So I wanted some advice on how to do this, I am no expert so please pick apart my plan and provide your amazing knowledge:

I was going to remove any Gypsum plaster I can find from the interior of the external wall. Get down to lime, if this is in good condition I was going to use this method to insulate and plaster: https://www.lime-green.co.uk/products/lime-systems/WFI. (woodfibre board and onecoat lime plaster)

Questions about this:

Can I apply this to the walls beside the chimneys only? I was playing around with the idea of taking the chimneys back to brick and repairing with lime putty but not insulating these. I was going to apply this method on both ground and upper floor rooms.

Do I need to remove the gypsum plaster from the front and back facing walls also and apply this insulating method? Or can these remain gypsum or simply be lime plastered over with no insulation?

Can I use gypsum plaster on my interior walls (e.g. the wall between the living room and dining room?)

Can I use gypsum on my ceilings, these are mostly artex and so am worried about asbestos and so was thinking I should simply plaster over these?