Naïve questions - using 12.7mm 1/2" router bit on laminate kitchen worktop joints

Discussion in 'Carpenters' Talk' started by fizzy2, Nov 22, 2021.

1. fizzy2

fizzy2 Guest

Hi all - I'm new to using a router and doing the hockey stick joints.

I've read somewhere that most carpenters & kitchen fitters use cheapo bits that they throw away after one cut. Do they actually mean 2 cuts (1 joint) or literally use 2 cutters per joint?

With so much choice of bits - which do people recommend?

This one's a more complicated question... Watching youtube, many fitters do 4 x 10mm incremental depth sweeps on a 40mm worktop. Unless i'm missing something, doesn't that mean that the initial 10mm of the bit does all the cutting for all 4 sweeps and the rest of the bit just 'kisses' the worktop?

Instead, could you re-use say a 10mm bit for the first 4 sweeps (imperfect finish), then swap to a 12.7mm bit to trim the final edge at the full 40mm depth, thus getting multiple use out of your underworked 'finishing' bit?

If your 12.7mm bit was say 55mm, you could do one worktop finishing cut at 40mm depth, the 2nd at 42, 44, etc, always using a new edge depth of the bit that hasn't previously a cut before?

I did say that I had some naïve questions!

Last edited by a moderator: Nov 22, 2021
  2. woodbutcherbower

woodbutcherbower Screwfix Select

Forget all about 10mm bits - virtually every plunge cut, made by every router, in virtually any application, predominately uses the bottom 20% of the cutter and often very little else. The only exceptions are things like bearing-guided rebaters and moulding cutters which are machining the edge of a workpiece. Jigs are designed for use with 12.7mm cutters and a 30mm guide bush, and it’s just not worth mucking about changing cutters to save a comparatively tiny amount of money. If you do want to try and squeeze two joints out of a cutter - save a worn one for doing your dog bones, as these cuts are less critical.