Help needed

Discussion in 'Builders' Talk' started by Suziebee, Nov 24, 2021.

1. Suziebee

Suziebee New Member

Hi, been prepping my walls ready for painting. Sanding filling etc, when I came across a crack that wouldn't fill so tapped it and this happened! Plaster has come off in sheets! The rest of it seems fine just this area was loose. Now what do I do? What plaster to use? Tried ready made plaster but not going far any suggestions please?

Attached Files:

2. quasar9

quasar9 Screwfix Select

I am no expert on plastering but it looks like a wall skimmed over previous artex ! If plaster is not adhering, you need to prime the walls with a coat of PVA, diluted to makers specs. People here have strong views on one coat plaster as it does not give a perfect smooth finish but for a small area bit of sanding helps. Hopefully some plasterers will respond.

3. Jiml86

Jiml86 Screwfix Select

Its just blown is all, before you go repairing it make sure the rest of it is sound and still adhered to the substrate. After that as quasar said prime and plaster.

4. Suziebee

Suziebee New Member

Thanks for the replies. Yes looks a pretty poor job it's just this area where the wall has been opened up for a doorway. I have checked the rest.
    Would I get away with one coat plaster? I'm off get supplies soon could anyone tell me what I will need?
    Thanks

5. Wayners

Wayners Screwfix Select

Needs getting all off and plastered properly.
    Pva and plaster.
    I'd recommend blue grip vs pva tbh.. Then plaster again.

Poor job that.

6. Jiml86

Jiml86 Screwfix Select

One coat doesn't give a great finish for a diyer imo. I'd probably go two coats of multi finish

Suziebee likes this.
  7. Suziebee

Suziebee New Member

Pva then multi finish be ok? I applied ready made to a bit of it does this need scraping off or will pva over it be ok? Thanks everyone

8. Suziebee

Suziebee New Member

This is what came off

Attached Files:

9. Wayners

Wayners Screwfix Select