Should a raditor still be cold after being "on" for 10 hours?

Discussion in 'Plumbers' Talk' started by Jacob Newby, Dec 3, 2021.

1. Jacob Newby

Jacob Newby New Member

We've moved into a small new build studio flat (5th floor of 7) two weeks ago and noticed that, despite the insulation quality, the flat was still chill.

On inspection we realised that the bottom half of the 2 radiators were cold despite the heating system calling for heat constantly from 06:30 to 22:30 (thermostat set to 22 degrees)

The highest we've managed to get the flat is 20.5 degrees, and that was with the oven on.

When we managed to get the builders round to inspect the issue they said "the radiators should be cold on the bottom, because the flooring is cold" and "the radiator will heat up slowly because you've not set the thermostat high enough. Set it 35 to make it heat up quicker."

Now, I'm no expert but I've used enough radiators to think that sounds like absolute nonsense.

Can anyone confirm my suspicions, and shed light on what's actually going wrong?

Last edited: Dec 3, 2021
  2. oldsch00l

oldsch00l New Member

That is absolute rubbish from the builders on both counts - a cold floor would not cause the radiator to be cold and the thermostat setting has absolutely no bearing on how quickly the rads heat up.

I'm assuming these are standard water-fed rads connected to a gas boiler, rather than electric storage heaters or anything like that?

It sounds like you may have sludge in the radiators (if it was trapped air, the tops would be cold) - but then again that would be very unusual in a brand new installation.

If your radiators have either standard or thermostatic valves, are these fully open?

Also check the boiler to see what the radiator output temperature is set at - should be ~75 deg.

3. Jacob Newby

Jacob Newby New Member

Thanks for clarifying that oldsch00l.