E10 petrol

Discussion in 'Car and Van Talk' started by Adamfya, Nov 20, 2021.

1. woodbutcherbower

woodbutcherbower Screwfix Select

Morning Johnny. Premium grade, highly figured kiln-dried oak for my next customer joinery project - an ornate Victorian front door. Same sawmill as I’ve been buying from for 30 years.

100mm x 50mm (4” x 2”) x 2400mm - so nothing huge or fancy.

£266 + VAT per length. :eek: That’s more than double what I was paying a year ago.

2. woodbutcherbower

I mean don’t get me wrong, figured oak has always been expensive - it comes from the ‘sweet spot’ in the tree where the main bulk of the timber’s just starting to blend into the paler heartwood as it’s sawn. There’s only a small amount of this stuff comes from each tree (see a small cottage door I made this summer) - but the price is stratospheric. I’m having to go back to literally every customer with a price increase over the original quote I sent them a few months back to see if they still want to go ahead with the job.

862287E0-F842-458F-8D92-43F7BDFA1939.jpeg

kitfit1, Bazza-spark and quasar9 like this.
  3. JOMEL

JOMEL Screwfix Select

Hi WoodButcherbow.

Well I have made things all my life.88 now
    When I stand back and look at what I have made,
    I get a proud feeling of job well done.
    But you must have that feeling in abundance when you
    look back at those doors.
    You are not a Butcher Sir you are a MASTER CRAFTSMAN
    I am on with a project myself now been on it for months on and off
    But I am not sure if this is the place to explain.
    No matter I Enjoy it.
    But with family its kinda "grandads at it again"

So what.

Johnny M

4. woodbutcherbower

Post up some pics Johnny !!! FWIW it was watching my Grandad in his shed as a kid which got me started off five decades ago. Never underestimate the inspiration a grandparent can bring to impressionable little ones. And thanks for your kind words.

Take it easy young man, enjoy the rest of your weekend.