A good wireless thermostat for a conventional oil boiler

Discussion in 'Electricians' Talk' started by DavidDavidson, Sep 3, 2019.

1. DavidDavidson

DavidDavidson Member

My grandmother moved into a new house recently and the current heating timer/on off switch (there's no thermostat) is mounted in the electrical cabinet, which is about 7 foot off the ground. As such she needs a step ladder if she wants to turn in on her central heating, not only is this awkward, but it's dangerous too (she had a fall just over a year ago and fractured her pelvis in two places); so I've decided on getting a wireless thermostat (if you can get ones for conventional boilers with a setting for hot water and another channel for the radiators) however the current system just turns both on at once, though it has one wire leading in and two leading out, so I assume one is for hot water and one is for the radiators; though I'm not really a boiler expert.

If anyone has any suggestions for a good reliable wireless thermostat that's simple and easy to use (my gran is very tech illiterate) for less than £100 I'd really appreciate it.
    I would assume that since the boiler is an old oil boiler it runs on 240v mains.

Hope I got the thread in the right spot, there wasn't any boiler section and I'm only dealing with the thermostat so I figured here was the best spot.

2. MGW

MGW Screwfix Select

Honeywell Y6630D has worked well for me, you want two things, one some anti-hysteresis software, and two it fails safe. There are cheaper thermostats, but either they don't fail safe, i.e. if batteries go flat they can stick on, or have no anti hysteresis software i.e. as it approaches target temperature it starts to switch off/on so it does not over shoot. But does not control domestic hot water.

With a gas boiler you don't want anti hysteresis as the boiler modulates and that software upsets the modulation of boiler, but with oil you don't modulate boilers so it is required.