Accrediting someone else's work?

Discussion in 'Electricians' Talk' started by I Hate Bodgers, Nov 17, 2003.

1. I Hate Bodgers

I Hate Bodgers New Member

A serious question to all 'real' sparkys out there. First, a brief background:

I'm not officially qualified in any of the 'building' trades but I'm a very competent DIY'er and have experience of most jobs. I'm a self-employed property developer and do most works myself. I ALWAYS insist on work being done to the highest standard and will not attempt something that either I don't understand or is illegal for me to do (EG. gas installations).

I've had conflicting messages in the past so my question is twofold:

1. Is it still legal for me to do all electrical work during a house refurbishment(and, if so, is this likely to change soon)?

2. Where I may want to show proof of a competent installation (and satisfy myself - EG. if I was to rent out a property) would you be willing to simply test my installation and then issue certificates/guarantees or would you only issue certificates where you had been involved in the work?

Thanks

2. supersparky

supersparky New Member

from april next year its illegal you would not be able to do any electrical work even for your self, you will need to have the instalation tested and a certificate issued, you will probrably be charged extra or may be failed because you havent had the person who is testing it in to do the leccy work
    personly i would charge the normal price but i would expect to be the one doing the rectifying work! not me telling you whats wrong then you doing the work! lol

BR

3. The Engineer

The Engineer New Member