Adhesive advice for a complete newbie !

Discussion in 'Tilers' Talk' started by Blackstar, Jan 5, 2021.

1. Blackstar

Blackstar Member

Hi !

Lockdown project...

Downstairs toilet...floor, 2.1m in a 450x450x9.5, porcelain black eddision tile with small white pattern

Walls....3.5m in a 200x100, ceramic white metro crackled finish tile
    All finished with grey grout..

Im a complete newbie to tiling, but im a average diyer , What is the preferred adhesive to do this job, was planning on using ready mix, but have read, that you cannot use readymix on a floor, due to drying procedure vs powder.

Also read info that's its best to use a grey adhesive on black tiles and white on white tiles ! Will i have to buy 2 different adhesive's or can i just use 1 colour ?

Would also be great if someone could tell me what quantity of adhesive i will need

Will be back soon for advice on, setting out, cutting, grouting etc, etc,lol !

Many thanks

2. rogerk101

rogerk101 Screwfix Select

Always use powder adhesive, i.e. never use ready mix, as it's rubbish.
    I usually go down to my local tilers and ask if they have any damaged bags. Invariably they do have them.
    • If I bought the tiles from them, I usually negotiate a damaged bag of adhesive for free.
    • If I bought the tiles elsewhere, I usually pay about a fiver for a 20kg bag.
    Doesn't matter if the adhesive is grey or white ... whatever they have that's damaged. You're going to be grouting over the adhesive anyway, so who cares what colour it is?

3. DIYDave.

DIYDave. Screwfix Select

'Lockdown Project' :) ....... there's gotta be some positives during these current times !

Good to do your research before starting, always best to plan

What's the floor surface that your tiling onto

Likewise with the walls, and what condition are they in and how flat

How are you planning on cutting the tiles - porcelain floor tiles can be incredibly hard to cut and get chip free edges