Advice Needed Re Shower Cabling

Discussion in 'Electricians' Talk' started by Capt. Cabbage, Feb 10, 2004.

1. Capt. Cabbage

Capt. Cabbage New Member

Can anyone give me some advice on the following...

I am in the process of installing an electric shower at home and I have had a couple of conflicting opinions about what earth cabling is needed.

The shower is a 9.8Kw model and I have run some 10mm T+E to the bathroom already (Mostly surface clipped / under floorboards, with the last metre to be run down the wall underneath the tiles if that makes any difference?)

While searching the forums so far, I cannot find a definate answer to the following...

Do I need (Or is it strongly recommended) to run a seperate earth cable back to the fusebox and if so, what size should the cable be?

So far 1 electrician has informed me that I should run a seperate earth cable back, while another says that the earth in the T+E will be suitable.

As you can probably tell, I am not an electrician, so plain worded (And simple to understand!) replies would be most appreciated!

Thanks in advance.

2. The Trician

The Trician New Member

I would suggest that you proceed as you previously planned. Connect the 10.00mm single earth cable to both the shower and the main earth terminal in your consumer unit. Some people just bond to the nearest earth terminal in a bathroom/hallway, but since this is just usually a 1.00mm earth cable in a light fitting or ceiling rose, then the potential earth fault current would be too big for the cable. Others rely upon the earth (cpc) in the 10.00mm twin+earth cable. Basically its all about whether or not the earth fault loop impedence value is low enough to meet the disconnection time in BS7671. By running a seperate 10.00mm earth back you should not experience any problems with this.

3. Damocles

Damocles New Member

Answer to your question should already be on here somewhere.try using search for bathroom and the magic word 'bonding'.