ADVICE ON CORGI REGISTRATION

Discussion in 'Plumbers' Talk' started by mario500, Mar 14, 2004.

1. mario500

mario500 New Member

HI FELLA'S
    I qualified for ccn1 and all the main elements last september and of course want to become corgi registered..
    The problem is that I am a self employed plumber/ bathroom fitter so have no documented evidence to present to corgi.. I earn a good living doing what I do, as I only install luxury equipment and so charge a high premium for installation. The question I have for you guys is if I want to pursue working in the gas industry how can I get the documented evidence that corgi require? and is it even worth pursuing as I earn a good amount now? Corgi states that to work on gas for reward that you must be competent!! which of course I am as I take safety very seriously, but they don't make it easy to get corgi registered.. Some views and personal experiences about this matter would be much appreciated

2. Pugley

Pugley Member

Last August CORGI revised the criteria for acceptance to become registered.

You need:

1. Evidence that you have the appropriate skills (either gas work or similar transferable skills)
    2. Evidence that you have carried out work on the type of appliances/pipework for which you wish to register.
    3. Work inspected and approved by another CORGI registered person who will sign and put his/her registration number on that work.
    4. Attended and passed ACS qualification for each of the categories on which you wish to work.

This is all very simple if you work for an existing gas installation company who can pass you through some form of internal training and supervision.

For the self employed, the approval criteria is very, very difficult to obtain and prove. Not to mention very costly!

If you actually know a registered person who will take you under their wing and supervise/approve/inspect a range of jobs, then this may help with your pre registration meeting with the inspector.