Air bricks in conservatory now internal and letting in damp

Discussion in 'Builders' Talk' started by AJ.47, Nov 13, 2022.

1. AJ.47

AJ.47 New Member

Hi, we've had a conservatory build on the back of our '99 built semi detached house with solid foam insulated cavity walls. The walls have plenty of external air bricks at low level but since building the conservatory some of the air bricks are now inside the conservatory and let in a draft as well as damp (see photos). I'm thinking of using silicone to seal the air brick & stop drafts and mould or is this a bad idea?

Floor of house and conservatory is solid concrete btw. New conservatory walls are cavity insulated with rockwool and no air bricks although does partially cover an airbrick (wall on left)

I work in construction but as a fire alarm engineer so no idea what I'm doing here but happy to give advice on fire alarms!

Attached Files:

2. AnotherTopJob

AnotherTopJob Screwfix Select

I don't really see what the airbricks are achieving by coming inside the property. They're normally to ventilate a suspended floor or the cavity but in your case don't seem to achieve either of those things.

3. Abrickie

Abrickie Screwfix Select

OP Are you absolutely sure you have a solid concrete floor ? As the airbricks would suggest block and beam.
    @AnotherTopJob absolutely no reason why they can’t be above DPC, hence the availability of telescopic sleeves ;)

4. AnotherTopJob

Originally those airbricks vented to the outside atmosphere, so presumably to maintain that a sleeve should have been fitted to extend them?

5. AJ.47

AJ.47 New Member