Air Source Direct Hot Water Cylinder - Design Concept

Discussion in 'Eco Talk' started by MarkD77, Aug 29, 2019.

1. MarkD77

MarkD77 New Member

Hi All,

Thank you for letting me join the forums, here at Screwfix.

I am a qualified electrician and I am very much into green technology and audio visual, I am in the process of purchasing a new property and I have bought a Dimplex Air Source Heat Pump Cylinder (uses air and AC gas to generate heat).

I have a concept design, but I don't know enough about ventilation to know if the idea will work.

My idea is:
    • Use the warmer air from my AV rack to help with the air heat that the cylinder by pulling through the AV cupoard warmth.
    • It's a little bit more complicated because I am installing an MVHR ducted system that will also re-use the av cupboard heat to help warm the house in the colder months.
    • The Cylinder will not be running often as it will need to top up the hot water or quite often after a bath etc.
    • I planed to use a solenoid on the 75mm MVHR ducting to close the MVHR pipe once the fan runs on the air source pump.

I have attached a picture of the design which will probably explain it more than this post, I wanted to get some feedback on the potential problems that this could cause and maybe if its even worth doing.

Thank you very much for any help you can give or critic :)

Screenshot 2019-08-29 18.14.18.png

2. kiaora

kiaora Well-Known Member

Hi
    I don’t really know a lot about heat pumps, I know how they work, but, I do understand the unit is designed to use ambient air temperature and release the heat in it.

We have to remember, if the out side temperature is minus 10 c, it’s actually plus 260 degrees Kelvin !
    It’s full of heat ,!
    Altering the installation instructions to draw air from other sauces my invalidate the guarantee.
    And introduce moisture into the unit.