Alternative to discontinued Turbo Ultra screws?

Discussion in 'Carpenters' Talk' started by cssbz, Nov 16, 2018.

1. cssbz

cssbz New Member

I've been using the Turbo Ultra screws for a few years now and have been pretty happy with them. I like the sharpened tip, the rifled shank, stainless steel.

But... seems ScrewFix have discontinued them. The "Ultra" line is stainless, but lacks the other two features I mentioned - a pretty poor substitute.

Does anyone know of a similar alternative product?

2. KIAB

KIAB Super Member

Look at Reisser screws,quailty,will be something similar intheir range.

Forgefast is another one I've started using,has torx head,from competitor.

https://www.forgefix.co.uk/

Last edited: Nov 16, 2018
  3. CGN

CGN Screwfix Select

Loads of screws out there. Buy wine instead...much more useful.

malkie129 likes this.
  4. Pollowick

Pollowick Screwfix Select

Those replacement Stainless screws look the same as good old fashioned woodscrews and nowhere near the original ones that SF stocked. It will give me a problem too although I have some stocks of those I use.

Reisser's R2 Retinox range https://reisser.co.uk/shop/r2-retinox/ are Stainless but are again the older thread type and not the razor sharp cutter style. I tend to use just Reisser however for stainless I too preferred the SF range.

5. Broon

Broon Active Member

KIAB likes this.
  6. KIAB

KIAB Super Member

Have used their woodscrew, but the Rapierstar Starfix masonry screws are excellent, TX30 head, been using them to fix door frames.

7. Dan dan the man

Dan dan the man Active Member

Just drill a pilot hole......

SoManyUserNames likes this.
  8. cssbz

cssbz New Member

Thanks, all.

What I've figured out so far, in case this is useful to anyone else...