As a self employed decorator how much per day do you earn?

Discussion in 'Painters' Talk' started by dvddvd, Nov 28, 2020.

1. dvddvd

dvddvd Well-Known Member

I am an apprentice trained city and guilds painter and decorator. I worked for various companies over 30 years and 10 years ago I went self employed.
    I do mainly private work, bedroom here, kitchens , front rooms etc.
    I basically earn a wage.
    I price at £120 a day £600 a week.
    I graft all day, dont stop for lunch eat at work.
    Some days I have an easier day and leave a hour earlier.
    I get fed up with not making a fortune as other trades seem to do.
    So I earn a wage and if I have holiday, sickness or van trouble my £15 a hour get diluted so is it worth it?
    How does anybody else get on?

2. Tilt

Tilt Screwfix Select

It can depend on the area you live, or possibly work in, but then travel expenses may come into the equation.

Some trades people I know are happy on £120 a day where as others will not bother unless it's more like £200 to £250.
    And then some customers are willing to pay what others aren't or can't afford.
    Some overcharge but customers still pay it...
    I wouldn't feel good overcharging a customer. A fair price for a quality job I believe.

I guess a lot of people will choose to do their own painting especially if they think the quotes are too high but this can apply to other trades also.

You ask 'is it worth it'? but what are your other options????
    If you are happy at work and can afford to live reasonably well then maybe you're not doing too badly...
    Are you happy when the days work is done, and are your customers happy???

And it is definitely am employers market now and for the future as so many people looking for work, including a lot of chancers and / or desperate people.

£15 an hour is not too far off the average wage.

Mancone likes this.
  3. dvddvd

dvddvd Well-Known Member

Some jobs I enjoy some are a pain.