Bad (non pay)Day

Discussion in 'Other Trades Talk' started by Bigplumber, Sep 30, 2005.

1. Bigplumber

Bigplumber New Member

I have spent the last week tiling and changing an en suite for a couple. The lady of the house was away and her husband kept inspecting the work and said everything was ok. I have been tiling for over 18 years, but do more plumbing now. Anyway, sorry to waffle. Mrs X returns today and says that she dosen't like it. I know he commented about the red lines round the tiles yesterday when I grouted it, but th etiles were supplied by them and were only £3.40 from B&Q. Basically the glaze finished just on the edge.

All my tiling is perfectly level, no edges showing, and perfectly plumb. Used my trusty straight edge and laser level.

Her reasons are,

She dosent like half tiles on show (the shower tray was not level, discussed at quote stage)
    I didn't do behind the toilet (put tiles behind to further than the eye could see)
    Didn't like the cut behind the sink round a pipe (they wouldn't pay to have the walls skimmed)

I am thinking that she just does not like the tiles.

Am thinking of sueing them.

Anyone had anything like this, as this is my first.

Thanks, any replies most welcome.

2. This is an awful situation, yes I have had this but in a slighlty different manner, usually where it comes to settling the bill.

One half (usually the wife) has been saying yes to extra's, I always put these in writing before I do them, the husband comes to pay the bill and it's more than the estimate as a result of all these extras.

Anyhow, your in the right here, the tiles are plain cheap, thats not your fault, personally I tile then fit any suite so I understand that point but the rest of it is unreasonable.

I've never had to sue anyone, I've made it clear I wouldn't leave until I was paid a couple of times but I've never had a flat out refusal.

Take legal advice if this is as far as you've got.

3. Bigplumber

Bigplumber New Member