Bath tap access

Discussion in 'Getting Started FAQ' started by John K McGregor, Jul 10, 2018.

1. John K McGregor

John K McGregor New Member

Hi I need to replace my bath taps, long story. So I have bought new ceramic taps which will replace the old washer type taps on my existing bath.The bath is in a corner tight up against both walls. The taps are on the short side. After taking the tongue and groove panels off of the long side of the bath, the question I have is how do I unscrew the taps from underneath with the gap between them and the wall so narrow. I fear I might get the old taps off eventually but not be able to tighten up the new ones enough. Any helpful suggestions would be grateful. Ps this is my first time on any forum.
    John

2. DIYDave.

DIYDave. Well-Known Member

Often limited access to bath taps John but, these wrenches are made for the job
    Don't always need top brands like Rothenberger, you aint gonna be using these every day I presume ?

Good luck with the tap change

these are great for removing the nut on the pipe;

https://www.screwfix.com/p/basin-wrench-11/14631

https://www.screwfix.com/p/basin-wrench/13294

this is great for removing back nut;

https://www.screwfix.com/p/rothenberger-tap-backnut-spanner/27337

Get some light under the bath and urself into a comfy position then choose ur weapon of choice !

3. John K McGregor

Thanks Dave, these muckle great hands and the old knees, this is going to test my command of the English language

4. Heat

Heat Well-Known Member

Get an older plumber in to do the job, trust me.
    I can replace bath taps with little bother, (if there isn’t a built in vanity unit tight to bath).
    All in copper pipe and no flexi or plastic plumbing.
    But 40 years experience and also was taught some very sensible plumbing methods from my late father.

5. John K McGregor