Becoming a carpenter/joiner at 30

Discussion in 'Carpenters' Talk' started by jertujm, Jul 10, 2019.

1. jertujm

jertujm New Member

Hi, hope you're all good.

I've been working in offices for about 12 years now and have just hit 30, so I'm desperate for a change of career. I've recently been helping a friend renovate his house (building stud wall frames, boarding floors etc.) and found it really rewarding, so I'm hoping to get into it as a job.

Coming from an office background, my practical skills are limited, but I do seem to be learning and applying the basics quite quickly. With this in mind, I was wondering what the best route might be to doing this as a job.

I'm based in West Yorkshire and have seen a 6-month course at Bradford College that's affordable and looks to be a good introduction to the trade - what do you think? Here's the link: https://www.bradfordcollege.ac.uk/courses/further/carpentryandjoi-sep-2019-0

Thanks

2. sospan

sospan Well-Known Member

If the course is in the evening, it may help you get a position with a full time firm. It is really difficult to change careers especially these days. Hope it goes well for you

3. mr moose

mr moose Active Member

Just go self-employed and start doing work for people! You will learn on the job. If you are reasonably intelligent and good with your hands you will be successful.
    People always need carpenters especially if you are near a large urban area.
    I was in sales for about 8 years couldn't stand it, so glad I made the change at 38 ( I am now in my mid-50's). Since then I have never looked back, fresh air, interesting people, challenging at times, but rewarding.
    It depends on what sort of person you are and how much work/life balance you want. You may find working for yourself quite insecure in the beginning and obviously, it takes time to build a business and develop a good reputation. But it's worth it!

jertujm and ginger tuffs like this.
  4. jertujm

jertujm New Member