Black/dark brown plastic pipe in house plumbing

Discussion in 'Plumbers' Talk' started by vaughan007, Nov 29, 2003.

1. vaughan007

vaughan007 New Member

The plumbing was installed by the previous owner.

It is not copper pipe, but dark brown, almost black, fairly rigid plastic piping. This piping goes to all the radiators and all the upstairs taps. I appears to be 15mm in diameter. It looks in good condition and not very old.

I wish to change the taps and radiator valves all over the house.

Is there any special fittings that I need to use on this type of piping before fitting taps/radiator valves.

I know that there are lots of manufacturers of plastic plumbing. Are any of the fittings interchangable between different manufaturers of the piping?

Any advice that anyone can offer will be greatly appreciated as I have no previous experience of this type of piping.

Thanks,

Vaughan.

2. brian

brian New Member

pass,
    unless it has been painted and you havent had a close look at the finish in day light or with a good light source.

i cant remember seeing pipe like you are typing about, if i do ill get back to you.

3. brian

brian New Member

how do you know its plastic,
    you cant have plastic pipes running the taps,
    find a piece of pipe that wont been seen and scratch it and if its shiny then its copper,
    just like normal pipe work.

4. vaughan007

vaughan007 New Member

5. brian

brian New Member

Seems I am doing some of the educating!

Here is the newest type of plastic pipe fittings that can be used for cold and hot water systems (taps included).

brian
    sorry but i have never seen this before i was trying to help you.
    the link you have given dont show colour of pipe or anything.
    you did say brown,
    well anyway if its the pipe you are talking about around my way its grey/white. cheers.

6. leadlotus

leadlotus New Member