Boiler Servicing

Discussion in 'Plumbers' Talk' started by Hull, Nov 14, 2010.

1. Hull

Hull New Member

Warranty on my boiler has just expired. Have been looking into boiler servicing contracts, but i hear on average, theyre not the best value and its better just to get one-off services and hope repair work is rare (particularly with young boilers).
    How long can you leave it before you should start servicing your boiler? straight from year one??
    How often should i flush my central heating system?? yearly??

Any experienced advice appreciated.

2. tomplum

tomplum Active Member

my opinion is, save the boiler service fee, (60/80) and when it breaks down have it fixed with the money you saved,
    many will argue this point, they will be the people who service boilers for a living,

3. G Brown

G Brown New Member

I service boilers as part of what i do and I have to say Tom is spot on as usual.

4. imran_

imran_ New Member

As a professional I would not deviate from HSE and mfr guidance which is almost always to have an annual service. To advise otherwise may put individuals in a pickle were an accident to occur.

5. tomplum

tomplum Active Member

forgot to mention scaremongery is also part of the service mans sales pitch.

6. chris roast

chris roast Member

i service many boilers every year, but my own boiler a room sealed baxi solo, i have not serviced in 5 years and still going strong,

7. Fada Mach

Fada Mach New Member

I had my GlowWorm serviced after it's first year and the guy who did the job - from GlowWorm, and who had an identical boiler himself - said not to bother having it done again for a few years. He hadn't even serviced his own for the past 3 years...

8. imran_

imran_ New Member

http://www.hse.gov.uk/gas/domestic/faqownerocc.htm#faq1

Go against that and mfrs recommendations if you wish.... There's people on here want recourse that their towel rad is rusty after years......