Boilers..

Discussion in 'Plumbers' Talk' started by DaveF, Aug 8, 2018.

1. DaveF

DaveF Member

OK I have a customer here who is complaining about his plumber. This affects a kitchen installation.
    I have no knowledge of boiler types but need to advise him.
    His currently boiler is very old and is gravity system that has a simple timer and thermostat with a flue running through the ceiling and out the roof. The boiler is in a small room with a 4" air vent pipe running from the outside of the house under the floor in to the boiler room.
    His plumber insists on a combination boiler and that it is placed on an outside wall, preferably in the loft.
    That is not acceptable to him. He does not want the boiler in a different place ( certainly not in the loft ) and he does not want a combination boiler. He does not want to change his radiators and he does not want to pressurise them either. However the plumber will not give him any other options.
    My question is, given that the boiler in in the middle of the house, what arrangements for ventilation are possible for a heat only boiler? It's a bungalow so the flue is pretty short.

Last edited: Aug 8, 2018
  2. just pumps

just pumps Active Member

Change the plumber for one who listens to the customer.

seneca and Heat like this.
  3. terrymac

terrymac Active Member

Tell " the plumber " where to go and seek quotes and advice from 3 reputable central heating engineers. If the property is rented the tenant has no real right to determine what and where boiler is fitted. If property is owned you can tell him where to go !!

Heat likes this.
  4. DaveF

DaveF Member

The property is his and yes I had already determined that the plumber is full of it. The plumber is basically trying to pressure him in to a job he doesn't want. I keep telling him not to use British Gas but he's an old fellow and sticks to what he knows.