Can’t get old tap off

Discussion in 'Plumbers' Talk' started by John coll, Jan 18, 2020.

1. John coll

John coll New Member

I’m a newbie to plumbing and attempting to remove old mixer tap. All guides suggest there a nut underneath the sink which when removed will allow baseplate to be removed. Unfortunately, under mine there is no nut but what looks like a very rusted u shaped piece of metal. Photo hopefully attached. Any tips how this comes off?

Attached Files:

2. Wayners

Wayners Screwfix Select

What are they chances you can get sink off and flip over. I always took sink off/out and flip over. Fit new tap and drop back on. Get that felt stuff out the way, there is a nut there somewhere.

Edit. It's not felt it's rust. Ok.

Well get both water pipes off and tap should come off. The nut is missing. I can see now after another look. Might need to tap to shock it (smack) break rusty seal that's holding it. Could be silicone under tap holding it on. That maybe the trouble.

Last edited: Jan 18, 2020
    John coll likes this.
  3. DIYDave.

DIYDave. Screwfix Select

Been a few of these taps posted here lately with a somewhat unconventional fixing method (well, not as common as the ‘usual horseshoe washer, threaded stud and nut job)

To me, the threaded stud looks like it has a hex socket head just made for an Allen key (or hex driver) - must be a reason for that ?

Give good spray with WD40 type stuff and get Allen key in that stud and try to loosen it off

May shield some light on fixing method - good luck

John coll and WillyEckerslike like this.
  4. WillyEckerslike

WillyEckerslike Screwfix Select

Either an Allen key in the base of the threaded rod or something to do with the white plastic tab sticking out out of the part within the rusted metal (pull or squeeze maybe).

John coll likes this.
  5. John coll

John coll New Member