Can I remove these bricks or are they supporting my flue?

Discussion in 'Builders' Talk' started by 1930ssemi, May 24, 2020.

1. 1930ssemi

1930ssemi New Member

9C32E516-5A02-4CC7-B76B-073E2BDA9D1A.jpeg A550B88C-6567-490B-B4B6-6F18932F03E3.jpeg Complete novice here, we’re trying to open up our chimney in our 1930’s semi and have found a mess of disorganised brickwork behind the builders rubble, we want to take this out, and lower the opening below the supporting arch with a lintel to fit a bioethanol fire in (so is purely decorative and doesn’t need to be functioning), however, we are concerned that chaotic brickwork may be supporting the flue above it as we can’t see what’s holding it up? Any ideas? We will get a builder in if it’s risky, but just wanted to see if it was possible to do safely ourselves?

2. teabreak

teabreak Screwfix Select

The arch above looks promising in theory that should support the wall above, but I am not an expert. The whole thing looks a bit of a hotchpoch to me I think I would go the local builder route myself.

3. Joe the Plumber

Joe the Plumber Screwfix Select

I think I'd take the rest of the plaster off so you can see exactly what the arch looks like, but I agree with Teabreak.

What was there originally? Has it ever had a real fire?

Oh yes, and whatever you do, take the bricks out carefully and save them. You never know when you might need them in future and if they're gone, you'll never get matching new ones (guess how I know....)

4. 1930ssemi

1930ssemi New Member

Originally it was a builders opening and a gas fire, there’s soot in the flue, so I think at one point it did have a real fire, but that was a long time ago. We’ve got a builder coming round tomorrow to have a look at it, as I’m baffled about what bricks I can take out safely as it’s all a bit of a mess, thanks for your replies.

5. Joe the Plumber

Joe the Plumber Screwfix Select