Can't work out how to put large showerhead back on :-(

Discussion in 'Plumbers' Talk' started by Mrs JJJ, Aug 13, 2017.

1. Mrs JJJ

Mrs JJJ New Member

No, yer honour - I wasn't the one who took it off! One of my elderly relative's guests removed the larger showerhead from her shower (ours not to reason why) and left it off. I've tried to put it back on, but I'm no engineer and I just can't work out how it fits on. It's a fairly new shower and looks fairly conventional.

Little curved bits of metal (flanges?) are distributed around the fixed bit of the showerhead. One is split. Into two, with a small gap between the two halves. The rim of the plate with the holes in it has a small ridge on it. There is one small bit of metal sticking out from the rim, which I thought would fit between the gap in the split flange on the fixed bit. I tried positioning it there and twisting the plate on. After trying this several times, it dawned on me that this was, of course, impossible! I then tried positioning the pin in the gap and pushing the rest of the plate, to try to snap it on - and the same thing but pushing the plate on and pushing the pin into the gap afterwards. But neither seemed to work. And now I've run out of. Ideas. :(

It doesn't look as though anything has broken off. So my guess is the problem is user error, rather than a problem with the shower plate. It's possible, I suppose, that in my snap-on efforts, I didn't push hard enough. But. I was scared to force It, because I didn't know whether this was the method and since it's not MY shower, I was afraid of breaking it.

If anyone here could explain to me how such plates fit onto the showerhead, please, I'd be really grateful!

2. candoabitofmoststuff

candoabitofmoststuff Screwfix Select

I don't know the answer... but I do know that some photos would help.
    Can you take some and post them here?

Regards,

Cando

Mrs JJJ likes this.
  3. Mrs JJJ

Mrs JJJ New Member