Capped radiator pipes not getting warm

Discussion in 'Plumbers' Talk' started by Parkie1976, Oct 25, 2022.

Tags:
  1. Parkie1976

Parkie1976 New Member

Hi all,

I have had the rad removed temporarily in my bathroom whilst it’s being refurbished. Both pipes that feed to the rad have been capped off with the white plastic caps. My concern is that when the heating of turned on, neither of these pipes get warm and I’d have thought one would still have the hot water flowing up to the cap. Obviously I’m not experienced with this but the tradesman has already made some cock ups and this pipe work runs under the new flooring he’s installed and any issues may mean the flooring coming up again. Hope I’m worrying about nothing. Cheers.

2. WillyEckerslike

WillyEckerslike Screwfix Select

It's not getting hot because there's no flow in the capped pipe so the water cannot circulate back to the boiler. It's basically stagnant water. It's the same principle as only closing one valve on the radiator when you want to turn it off.

3. Parkie1976

Parkie1976 New Member

Thanks for this. Sounds like I’m worrying about nothing!

4. WillyEckerslike

WillyEckerslike Screwfix Select

Hopefully! Given your comments about other issues you can never be too sure though. Did the radiator work before it was removed?

5. Parkie1976

Parkie1976 New Member